Senior Discount

Sunday I went for breakfast at Idaho Joe’s after Mass. There is a breakfast buffet with shrimp! My waitress asked if I was a senior. This isn’t the first time. 15 years ago a waitress in a restaurant referred to my mom as my wife. Still, I’ve been thinking. What qualifies me as senior. I’m sure restaurants have a variety of definitions. AARP considers it 50. The GOP alternative, American Seniors Association is also 50. Pat Boone was the old ASA spokesman but the founding President of ASA was an old buddy from Auburn, NY. Now I guess I should start asking what qualifies me as senior. Bladder control? Gray hair? You kids get outta here?

Leave a Reply

